The Mail Carrier

My daughter plopped down on the family room couch with a book one day, sprawling out and getting comfy. From my vantage point at the kitchen sink, I could just barely see the top of her head, her brown hair peeking above the sofa cushions. Suddenly, she popped her head up, like the mole in the whack a mole game. I could see the title of her book – Bram Stoker’s Dracula.

“Mom! What’s a carrier’s cart? It says two men in a carrier’s cart stopped by the house.”

“I’m not sure,” I said. “Maybe a mail carrier?”

She furrowed her brow. “Well, yeah,” she replied. “it says two men.” 

I laughed till my sides hurt.

Leave a Reply

